Eat this Book – Preface + Chapter 1

Posted on February 23, 2011 by

0


If you aren’t sure what’s going on right now let me direct you to this post.

Preface –

Peterson gives an account of their grandson miming reading a new testament (he can’t read yet). But the manner in which he tried gave birth to the idea of the necessity of a book like the one to follow. One that will precipitate a deeper reading of scripture instead of a light cursory skimming and calling it good.

“The Forbidding Discipline of Spiritual Reading”

Peterson starts with a story about his Dog’s approach to gnawing on bones and limbs of animals. He quickly moves into how we should be meditating on scripture.

An Aside: I love footnotes. Love them, they are informative and readily available. Unlike their annoying and difficult cousin the end-note. If something is worth referencing and writing out, it is worth taking up some of the page space. I honestly have only ever read end-notes once in non required reading, and that was from “The Brothers Karamasov”. If you have attempted to read that formidable tome then you know that if you don’t read the end-notes you can very easily get lost. Footnotes would have been better. Oh and Peterson uses footnotes.

He walks through metaphors and quotations, a large section is from Barth, and leads to the imagery provided by Saint John in Revelation (10:9-10),

I went to the angel and told him to give me the little scroll; and he said to me,  “take it, and eat; it will be bitter to your stomach, but sweet as honey in your mouth.’ and I took the little scroll from the hand of the angel and ate it; it was sweet as honey in my mouth, but when I had eaten it my stomach was made bitter.

He then begins to set up the next chapter, and some far off chapters.

My take:  I appreciated his frank manner and his logical, although sometimes seemingly meandering, progression of thought. He draws from history and culture and ends in scripture (a very good place to end up).

Posted in: Book Review