| The desires of Your Heart |

Posted on February 8, 2010 by

1


Psalm 37:4

“Delight yourself in the LORD, and He will give you the desires of your heart.”

Not to sound over analytical, but what does the end of the verse mean?

“…give you the desires of your heart.”

I’ve seen this verse summed up as “Stay close to God and He will give you what you want.” Generally I have issue with this way of thinking. Some qualify it by saying that this is true “only if what you want is within His will.” I would agree with the qualifying statement. But part of me is asking is this really what the Holy Spirit and the psalmist is trying to say.

The word that is translated “give” is the Hebrew word “qal” which can be translated :to give, bestow, grant, etc…

but it can also be translated : to put, set, put on, put upon, set, appoint, assign, designate

It seems like one of those pictures where you simply have to shift your focus and a different picture appears.

If we take our focus off of what we want and our selfish nature and focus on the sovereignty of God and the transforming work of the Gospel, this verse can look a little different.

if we take the second translation of the word “qal” the verse can be read

“Delight yourself in the LORD, and He will assign you the desires of your heart.”

The difference is small but can have big implications. Instead of meaning, Love God and He will give you what you want. It means, Love God and He will tell your heart what to want.

Personally this was hard to accept… I like planning and I like working things to achieve what I want. So, thinking that this verse, that has historically given me confidence in the plans I’ve made, could mean that my heart needs to change was a hard thing to swallow.

Expect God to change who you are, not to enable us to stay the same.


Posted in: Theology