Hope

Posted on May 3, 2009 by

0


I think that there are times when it is hard to discern what God is trying to do in our lives… recently it seems like always. But there is comfort in the words of our Lord given to us in Scripture.

“Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. 29 “Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and YOU WILL FIND REST FOR YOUR SOULS.” Mt 11:28-29

11 `For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, `plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. 12 `Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. 13 `You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart. 14 `I will be found by you,’ declares the LORD,” Jer. 29

There are things in life that can look pretty bleak and can knock the wind out of you. Especially in these days that are hard on so many. But we have a hope that is greater than any job, than any relationship, than any friendship, than any house, than any car, than any new pair of jeans, than any sense of earthly security that we have. Our hope is in Christ Jesus, creator and sustainer of all things made (John 1). He is our God and our advocate. He stands between us and the worst thing possible, complete seperation from the presence of God, and says “I paid for that.” “This ones mine, and they’re in.”

It’s not anything that we’ve done

Or can do

He paid the price and gives salvation as a gift to whom He will.

So no matter what happens, how bad it could get, we have the promise of a greater life.

Tagged:
Posted in: Theology