Christmas… have a merry one?

Posted on December 29, 2007 by

0


It’s early Christmas morning and I’m at my Fiancé’s families house (I started this on Christmas morning, but things got in the way, like Christmas, an 8 hour drive, Christmas again, relaxing). Oh yeah I got engaged to the most wonderful woman in the world… I got up this morning and intended to continue to read Luke again. I have been going over the accounts of the birth of the Messiah throughout scripture. But this morning i realized that in all the commotion of last night I left my bible in my car. So I went online and used biblegateway.com to read through it.

1In those days Caesar Augustus issued a decree that a census should be taken of the entire Roman world. 2(This was the first census that took place while Quirinius was governor of Syria.) 3And everyone went to his own town to register.

4So Joseph also went up from the town of Nazareth in Galilee to Judea, to Bethlehem the town of David, because he belonged to the house and line of David. 5He went there to register with Mary, who was pledged to be married to him and was expecting a child. 6While they were there, the time came for the baby to be born, 7and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn.

I read to about here and I noticed something that i had been intrigued by since Sunday morning. Looking at verse 5 “who was pledged to be married to him and was expecting a child” (emphasis mine) So being the inquisitive mind that I am I did a little searching and in Matthew 1

24When Joseph woke up, he did what the angel of the Lord had commanded him and took Mary home as his wife. 25But he had no union with her until she gave birth to a son. And he gave him the name Jesus.”

As I understand it in the Jewish tradition the couple isn’t married until they consummate the marriage. I just find it interesting that our lord and Saviour might have been born before his earthly parents were married. Could this possibly have been a reason why there was no room made for a pregnant woman at the inn?

Beyond this if you look into the genealogy of Christ and read the stories of the people that are included you will find that they are not all the shining saints.

So as you go about your hopefully happy lives today keep in mind that although our lord was perfect and committed no sin he came from a family that by all rights according to the customs of the day would be shunned as unclean and impure. So how do we view those around us, do we see the potential, or do we see only what has been and doom them to that which we perceive to be their destiny.

Posted in: Theology