Community -or- Get involved

Posted on May 23, 2007 by

1


God has been making himself known to me daily, he speaks through his word, through books and sometimes television, through movies, through people, and through situations. I have seen Prayers answered, my own and others, and I have seen people reaching out for help. I don’t think i will ever understand why God chooses to reveal himself differently at different times. At School, a Christian institution, I had to actively and fervently seek out what God was trying to say to me, but here at home with the very little outside contact that I have been getting God reveals himself so evidently. Maybe it’s because I’m away from the community of faith that I am most accustomed to, that He has decided to get in my face everyday and remind me that HE is God and I am man and that I need Him more than anything in the world.

I recently saw two clips from some very radical ministers, one of them says that our God is a God of Hate and anger and that they are the only ones in His will. I actually viewed the clip of him celebrating the Virginia Tech massacre, and saying that he wished it was 33,000 instead of 33. The other minister I saw was a man calling out to his congregation to kill all Caucasians, and then desecrate their graves. Why am I sharing this with you? Because community is so important to our lives as Christians. (side note: I completely disagree with both of those ministers) If you look at the early Church they lived in a Christian Community where everything was shared.

Acts 4 32All the believers were one in heart and mind. No one claimed that any of his possessions was his own, but they shared everything they had. 33With great power the apostles continued to testify to the resurrection of the Lord Jesus, and much grace was upon them all. 34There were no needy persons among them. For from time to time those who owned lands or houses sold them, brought the money from the sales 35and put it at the apostles’ feet, and it was distributed to anyone as he had need.

First thing is that we all need to be actively engaged in a HEALTHY community. It is very important that the community that you get involved in is healthy, now this does not mean that they have everything figured out, but it does mean that they are avoiding harmful/hindering practices and are a strong bible believing church. I have had some experiences with churches where the senior pastor is the only one with a say in what happens and the only one casting a vision for the church. So be informed about your church, don’t make judgments based on feeling, God gave you a brain and a critical nature, use it.

Secondly Make sure that you’re not an isolated community. Consider the great commission, we are to go into all the world and make disciples. All the world includes your neighborhood. How can we be a place that the lost want to run to for comfort if we don’t have a good reputation with our neighbors and community, and how can we have a good reputation if we are not actively engaged in living life with those around us.

One thing to remember is that churches are not the only communities that we can/should be involved with. We are charged to care for the earth, Creation mandates (Genesis 1:28-30), and we are told that The Greatest commandments are to Love God and to Love People. (Matt. 22:37-40). God intended us to care for the earth and to care for each other. There are two organizations that I am currently looking into supporting. One is the Sierra club. The other is, To Write Love on Her Arms.

Christ didn’t just stand on the side of Hills and preach to the lost, He met the fallen where they were. ( He met the woman at the well in mid-day because she was avoiding others in the shame of her adultery. Christ stopped the stoning of another adulterous women. He went to the tax collectors house.) He was not just calling them out for their sin, He helped them, He walked alongside them in their sin and brought them through.

So that is what I was thinking about tonight.

God Bless

Posted in: Theology