Worship

Posted on May 15, 2007 by

2


“We have to have rooted in us as leaders the idea that this is not for me this is for my God.” – Charlie Hall

 

Throughout my experiences of leading God’s people in worship and praise I have consistently questioned my motives. I know that as a human I have the tendency and the predisposition to want recognition and to build up acclaim for myself. It is because of these fallen attributes that I find it necessary to constantly evaluate my own motivations in how I am leading God’s people in music.

Just recently I have begun to have more interaction with spontaneous worship styles. Right now I can only react to my experiences in the most biblical way that I can.

 

2 Samuel 6:14
David, wearing a linen ephod, danced before the LORD with all his might,

Psalm 71:23
My lips will shout for joy when I sing praise to you— I, whom you have redeemed.

 

 

One of the main of the points of some of these adamantly spontaneous people is that what we do, we do for God and not for those around us. So if we felt called to dance, then dance, if we felt called to cry out to God then it is the Holy Spirit inclining our hearts to do these things.

It is not my intent to question the moving of the Holy Spirit, my only intent is to make sure that the worship we are publicly offering to God is right in its motivation.

 

1 John 4

1Dear friends, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world.

 

Ecclesiastes 5

Stand in Awe of God

1 Guard your steps when you go to the house of God. Go near to listen rather than to offer the sacrifice of fools, who do not know that they do wrong.

2 Do not be quick with your mouth,
do not be hasty in your heart
to utter anything before God.
God is in heaven
and you are on earth,
so let your words be few.

3 As a dream comes when there are many cares,
so the speech of a fool when there are many words.

In light of these verses we need to make sure that we aren’t pressuring those around us into a single style of worship. The old norm used to be the Baptist stoicism, where as recently there has been a push for more charismatic expressions of worship.

Recently I was in a worship service that was very strongly spirit lead in its execution. I truly felt that the leaders of the service were being sensitive to the Holy Spirit and the needs of the congregation. During the majority of this service I felt that God was calling me to be still and know that He is God. As I stood in a service with people jumping around me and spinning praising God I felt some pressure to jump around and be very physical in my expression of worship. Now is either reaction more right, or more spirit led? Not in the least. But it seems that there is a general idea that when the Holy Spirit moves in us we must jump and spin. And if we stand either we aren’t worshiping or we are struggling in our walk with Christ.

A common phrase these days is “being open to other forms of worship,” and “Don’t put God in a box.” But it seems that in a lot of situations people mean that “You should be open to MY form of worship,” while not really applying the same principle to themselves. The same type of hypocrisy occurs in some of those that proclaim that we shouldn’t put God in a box, the way they react to other and traditional forms of worship screams don’t put MY God in YOUR box. I’m not saying that I am immune to this, but I am saying that as children of God we need to be focused on the unity of the Body of Christ and the Glory of God, and not our own personal preferences.

In the end all that matters is that we are truly glorifying God in all we do. The music we use to praise him should be a reflection of our worshipful lives.

God help us everyday to be Faithful.

Posted in: Theology